Skip links

Fujiya & Miyagi

Agent: Eleanor McGuinness | Territory: EU/UK/Australia/Asia


Brighton-based Fujiya & Miyagi have been making expansive, experimental and multifaceted electronic-driven music for twenty years now. As an outfit they have been as successful in their investigations into bleep as they have elongated Krautrock wig outs, and creating breathy electro pop as fiercely as they do post-punk-indebted scratchy dance. Their last album from 2019, Flashback, found the group re-connecting with the potent music of their youth and bringing it into the present.

Fujiya & Miyagi first came to light with their 2002 album ‘Electro karaoke in the negative style’ which created the first glimpse of what was to become their distinctive sound of electronics and hushed vocals. It wasn’t until 2006 with the release of ‘Transparent Things’ that the group gained wider critical acclaim and became more widely known both in Europe and in North America. The album blended the groups love of 70’s German electronic Music, post-punk dance music and the sounds affiliated with labels such as Warp Records in the 1990s. They toured extensively during this period and also around 2009’s Lightbulbs album.

They then worked with LA based Producer Thom Monahan on 2011’s Ventriloquizzing. The record was a move away from the more electronic and dance orientated direction of their previous records with more emphasis on sounds and textures. After a three year gap Fujiya & Miyagi returned in 2014 with their most electronic album to date titled ‘Artificial Sweeteners’. Which returned to the working methods of their earlier records but with added vigour and experimentation. Between 2016 and 2017 they released a deeply ambitious three EP trilogy on their own imprint Impossible Objects of Desire in 2017. A carefully staged project that saw the group traverse disco, electro, pop, and the now synonymous 1970s Germany-inspired groove they so seamlessly ooze. The group are currently putting the finishing touches to what will be their ninth album.

The band line-up is:

David Best (Vocal & Guitar)
Steve Lewis (Synths & Production)
Ed Chivers (Drums)
Ben Adamo (Bass)